City of Water

The Metropolitan Waterfront Alliance and the Municipal Art Society are proud to present their new documentary City of Water about the future of New York City’s waterfront. Two years in the making, City of Water explores the aspirations of public officials, environmentalists, academics, community activists, recreational boaters and everyday New Yorkers for a diverse, vibrant waterfront at a time when the shoreline is changing faster than at any other time in New York’s history. The documentary features interviews with Deputy Mayor Daniel Doctoroff, US Representative Nydia Velazquez, MacArthur Fellow Majora Carter, author Phillip Lopate, Sandy Hook Pilots’ Captain Andrew McGovern and others, and includes footage from Jamaica Bay, the Brooklyn Navy Yard, and many other places on the waterfront.

Press Clippings

City of Water has been reviewed by several newspapers and other media. Click on the links below to read their reactions.
Downtown Express
Hudson Reporter
Brooklyn Eagle
The Brian Lehrer Show on WNYC (Podcast)

Past Screenings

2009

  • Tuesday, March 31st, 7:00 p.m.
    at TRACE, 8814 Third Avenue, Brooklyn, NY

2008

  • Thursday, December 18th, 6:00 – 7:00 p.m.
    at Center for the Urban Environment, 168 7 Street, Brooklyn, NY
  • Saturday, September 27th, 6:30 – 9:00 p.m.
    at Historical Jacob Riis Bathouse, Benefit Reception for Rockaway Waterfront Alliance and Screening of “City of Water”
  • Friday, May 9, time TBA
    at the Brooklyn Museum of Art, 200 Eastern Pkwy, Brooklyn, NY [As part of the Brooklyn Arts Council International Film Festival]
  • Friday, April 18, 6:30 – 8:00 p.m. – CANCELED
    at the Municipal Art Society, 457 Madison Avenue
  • Wednesday, April 23, 1:30 p.m. and 6:00 p.m.
    at University Settlement, 184 Eldridge Street, Manhattan
  • Wednesday, April 23, 5.00 p.m.
    At Eugene Lang College, 65 West 11th St.
  • Sunday, April 6, 4:00 p.m.
    at the Hoboken Historical Museum, 1301 Hudson Street, Hoboken, NJ
  • Saturday, April 5, 1.00 p.m.
    at St. Ann’s Warehouse, 38 Water Street, Brooklyn
  • Thursday, March 27, 6:30 p.m.
    at The Point, 940 Garrison Avenue, Bronx, NY
  • Monday, March 3, 6.30 p.m.
    at the Gotham Center, Graduate Center, CUNY, 364 Fifth Avenue, Manhattan
  • Saturday, March 8, 11.40 a.m.
    at the New York Hall of Science at Flushing Meadow Park, 47-01 111 Street, Queens
  • Thursday, February 21, 6:00 p.m.
    at the Museum of American Finance, 48 Wall St., Lower Manhattan
  • Saturday, February 16, 1:00 – 3:00 p.m.
    at the Harlem River Ecology Center, located at the southern end of Roberto Clemente Park and River Park Towers
  • Also on Saturday, February 16 & Sunday, February 17, 4:00 – 11:00 p.m. (Screening at 7:30 p.m.)
    at Pier 66 Boathouse (The Hudson River at 26th St)
  • Friday, February 8, 7:00 p.m.
    at Spoke the Hub, 748 Union Street, Brooklyn, 11215
  • Monday, February 4, 7:00 p.m.
    at the Sixth Street Community Center, 638 East 6th Street, Manhattan
  • Saturday, February 2, 3:00 p.m.
    at South Street Seaport Museum, 12 Fulton Street, Lower Manhattan

2007

  • Friday, November 30, 6:00 p.m.
    at Center for Architecture, 536 LaGuardia Place, Manhattan
  • Tuesday, November 6, 7:00 p.m.
    at 14 Vesey St. (between Broadway and Church St.), Manhattan
  • Monday October 29, 7:00 p.m.
    at Public School 321, 180 7th Ave, Brooklyn
  • Thursday, October 18, 7:00 p.m.
    at The Belarussian Church, 401 Atlantic Avenue (corner of Bond St.), Brooklyn
  • Thursday, October 11, 6:30 p.m.
    at Middle School 51, Fifth Ave., Brooklyn
  • Monday, October 1, 6:30 p.m.
    at Hunts Point Riverside Park, The Bronx
  • Monday, October 1, 7:00 p.m.
    at the Greater Astoria Historical Society, 35-20 Broadway, 4th Floor, Astoria, Queens
  • Friday, September 28, 7:00 p.m.
    at Socrates Sculpture Park, intersection of Vernon and Broadway Boulevard, Queens
  • Wednesday, September 26, 7:00 p.m.
    at the National Arts Club.
  • Monday, September 24, 7:00 p.m.
    at Stuyvesant Cove Park, Solar One.
  • Thursday, September 20, 6:30 p.m.
    at Tobacco Warehouse in the Empire-Fulton Ferry State Park
  • Wednesday, September 19, 6:00 p.m.
    at Jimmy’s No. 43, East 7th Street (between 2nd and 3rd avenues)
  • Monday, August 27, 7:00 p.m.
    at Water Taxi Beach, Long Island City
  • Thursday, June 21, 6:30 p.m.
    at Pier 2, at Furman Street, between Fulton Ferry and Joralemon Street, Brooklyn.